Riverside DUI Lawyer
Defending You Against DUI Charges in California
Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, illegal drugs, or other controlled
substances carries serious penalties. You can lose your license and your
vehicle, as well as your freedom. A conviction for any number of traffic
violations can lead to higher insurance rates, suspension of your driver's
license, and extensive fines.
Our goal is to minimize the negative consequences to you no matter how
serious the charges. Depending on the circumstances of your case, that
may mean keeping you out of jail, or getting a felony DUI reduced to a
misdemeanor charge. We will also work to help you obtain a provisional
To learn more about DUI and traffic violations, please visit the following pages:
What are the DUI Penalties in California?
At Blumenthal Law Offices, our Riverside DUI attorneys aggressively defend
the rights of those accused of all types of DUIs and serious traffic violations.
We can review your case and work closely with you to develop a solid defense
strategy. Most importantly, we want to keep you out of jail and protect
your driving privileges whenever possible.
first offense DUI, you may be penalized with:
- Up to six months in jail
- Fines between $390 and $1000
- Your vehicle may be impounded and subject to storage fees
- Your license may be suspended for 6 months
- Required to complete a DUI offender program before it can be reinstated
We can examine the police report and the facts of the case. Did the police
have probable cause to make the traffic stop? Were they properly trained
in administering the blood alcohol/Breathalyzer test? Had the Breathalyzer
unit been properly maintained and calibrated? We will ask the hard questions
and explore all legal options.
No Court Appearance Required in Most Cases
At Blumenthal Law Offices, our Riverside DUI attorneys have successfully
represented thousands of clients charged with a DUI. We know how to handle
your case efficiently and effectively. In most cases, you don't even
have to go to court.
If you were charged with DUI for driving under the influence of alcohol,
illegal drugs, prescription drugs, or over-the-counter medications, please
contact our offices today and we can start discussing your case.
Can I Refuse a Chemical Test?
In California, every person who receives a license automatically subjects
themselves to the implied consent law (Cal. Veh. Code § 23612(a)(1)(B)).
That means by applying for a license, you are also signing away your right
to refuse a blood, breath, or urine test when pulled over lawfully. The
only option the law gives you is which test to take.
As many people know, if the test reads a blood alcohol content level above
.08%, then the driver will be arrested for driving under the influence.
If the driver’s BAC is between .05 and .08, they are not automatically
presumed to be sober; the officer can still believe a driver to be guilty
of DUI if the driver is exhibiting other signs of alcohol or substance
abuse. Due to the DMV laws regarding BAC levels and testing,
you cannot refuse without facing heavy consequences.
The consequences of refusing to take a chemical test include:
- $125 fine
- Immediate arrest
- 1-year suspension of driving privileges
- Mandatory prison sentence if found guilty of DUI
These consequences don’t even include penalties if this is a second
offense. If the driver has had a violation on their record in the last
10 years, refusal could result in
revocation of their driving license for 2 years, as well as tougher sentencing if
they are found guilty.
Unfortunately, refusing the chemical test will not guarantee your freedom
or innocence—prosecutors have been known to use refusals as signs
that the defendant was definitely guilty of DUI. Regardless of the speculation,
however, the lack of hard evidence makes it more difficult for prosecutors
to prove a DUI violation. When it comes to your freedom, you will need
to gauge your own situation and assess the risks yourself.
However, the consequences for failing a DUI test are far heavier:
- Up to 4 days in jail
- Fines up to $1,000
Call Our Riverside DUI Attorneys Today: (951) 682-5110
Were you charged with DUI while driving without a license or driving without
insurance? Were you arrested for a DUI after being involved in an accident
in which another person was injured or killed? Were you charged with drug
trafficking in addition to DUI? These are serious allegations that demand
competent legal representation.
Our DUI defense attorneys have the knowledge, experience, and skill to
effectively defend you against these and other drunk driving charges.
Whether this is your first offense or whether you have had other encounters
with the law, we can protect your rights and aggressively pursue the best
possible resolution to your case.