When the new year—and new decade—begins on January 1, many
new California laws will go into effect. Some of these laws deal with
the criminal justice system.
The following are several new California criminal justice laws in 2020:
Juvenile hall age (SB 439) – Minor offenders who are 12 years of age can be sent to juvenile
hall. A minor under 12 years old would be released to their parent or
legal guardian. However, if a minor alleged commits great bodily harm,
murder, the law doesn’t apply.
Childhood sexual assaults (AB 218) – Starting January 1,
child sexual assault victims of all ages can recover damages in civil court as a result of
this sex crime until they turn 40 years old or within five years from
the time the psychological injury or illness was discovered or should’ve
been discovered. Previously, the time limits were within eight years the
plaintiff attains the age of majority or within three years from the time
the psychological injury or illness was discovered or should’ve
Domestic violence (SB 273) – The statute of limitations to report
domestic violence to the police extend to five years, rather than one year. The law only
applies to cases that occur on or after January 1.
Firearm restraining orders (AB 12) – On September 1, 2020, teachers, employers, and co-workers can
petition a judge to confiscate a person’s guns if they believe that
he/she may be violent.
If you have been arrested in Riverside, contact Blumenthal Law Offices
today at (951) 682-5110 and request a free consultation.