When the new year—and new decade—begins on January 1, many new California laws will go into effect. Some of these laws deal with the criminal justice system.
The following are several new California criminal justice laws in 2020:
- Juvenile hall age (SB 439) – Minor offenders who are 12 years of age can be sent to juvenile hall. A minor under 12 years old would be released to their parent or legal guardian. However, if a minor alleged commits great bodily harm, rape, or murder, the law doesn’t apply.
- Childhood sexual assaults (AB 218) – Starting January 1, child sexual assault victims of all ages can recover damages in civil court as a result of this sex crime until they turn 40 years old or within five years from the time the psychological injury or illness was discovered or should’ve been discovered. Previously, the time limits were within eight years the plaintiff attains the age of majority or within three years from the time the psychological injury or illness was discovered or should’ve been discovered.
- Domestic violence (SB 273) – The statute of limitations to report domestic violence to the police extend to five years, rather than one year. The law only applies to cases that occur on or after January 1.
- Firearm restraining orders (AB 12) – On September 1, 2020, teachers, employers, and co-workers can petition a judge to confiscate a person’s guns if they believe that he/she may be violent.
If you have been arrested in Riverside, contact Blumenthal & Moore today at (951) 682-5110 and request a free consultation.